Test Your Knowledge

QUESTIONS:

  1. Is it a double play when, with a runner on 1st base, the batter hits to 2nd who tags the runner from 1st and then throws wild to 1st base, the catcher retrieves the ball and throws the batter/runner going to 2nd base out?
  2. How would you advance a runner home safely when there is a double play?

 

 

 

 

ANSWERS:

  1. Rule 2 Definition of Doule Play and  Rule 9.11 [Old Rule 10.11] - No Double Play. Not continuous action as an error intervened between putouts. 
  2. Rule 9.04 (b)  [Old Rule 10.04 (b)] - Fielders Choice